UW-Milwaukee Spring Commencement 2012

The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee’s 2012 Spring Commencement will be held Sunday, May 20, at the U.S. Cellular Arena, 400 W. Kilbourn Ave. Due to the number of graduates, there are two commencement ceremonies, with graduate participation determined by the school or college attended.

An estimated 2,727 bachelor’s, 850 master’s and 127 Ph.D. degree candidates have been invited to participate. For more information, visit uwm.edu/secu/commencement.


The Black Ceremony includes bachelor’s, master’s and Ph.D. candidates from the following schools and colleges: School of Architecture & Urban Planning, College of Letters & Science, School of Freshwater Sciences, School of Information Studies, Peck

School of the Arts and the Joseph J. Zilber School of Public Health.

Chancellor Michael R. Lovell; José Vásquez, UW System Board of Regents; and UWM Alumni Association President Allyson Nemec will welcome the participants.

Will Allen will receive the honorary degree of Doctor of Agriculture and will give the commencement address.

Dennis McBride recipient of the 2012 UWM Alumni Association (UWMAA) Citizenship Award, and Dr. Mary T. Kellner, recipient of the 2012 UWMAA Special Life Achievement Award, will also be honored.


The Gold Ceremony includes bachelor’s, master’s, Doctor of Physical Therapy and Ph.D. candidates from the following schools and colleges: Sheldon B. Lubar School of Business, School of Education, College of Engineering & Applied Science, College of Health Sciences, Helen Bader School of Social Welfare and College of Nursing.

Chancellor Michael R. Lovell; Michael Falbo, UW System Board of Regents; and UWM Alumni Association President Allyson Nemec will welcome the participants.

Jacquelyn Fredrick will receive the honorary degree of Doctor of Business and Public Health, and Stephen H. Marcus will receive the honorary degree of Doctor of Business and Urban Development. Fredrick will give the commencement address. (Marcus will deliver the commencement address at the December 2012 ceremony.)

Recipients of the 2012 UWMAA Distinguished Alumnus Awards also will be recognized.


Will Allen

Founder and CEO, Growing Power Inc.

Honorary Doctor of Agriculture

Will Allen, son of a sharecropper, former professional basketball player, ex-corporate sales leader and longtime farmer, has become recognized as among the preeminent thinkers of our time on agriculture and food policy.

The founder and CEO of Growing Power Inc., a farm and community food center in Milwaukee, Allen is widely considered the leading authority in the expanding field of urban agriculture.

At Growing Power and in community food projects across the nation and around the world, Allen promotes the belief that all people, regardless of their economic circumstances, should have access to fresh, safe, affordable and nutritious foods at all times.

Using methods he has developed over a lifetime, Allen trains community members to become community farmers, assuring them a secure source of good food without regard to political or economic forces.

In 2008, Allen received the prestigious MacArthur “Genius grant” for his efforts to promote urban sustainable food systems. During 2010, Allen joined First Lady Michelle Obama as she launched the White House’s “Let’s Move” campaign to address issues affecting American youth and the risk of obesity.

Later that year, he was recognized as one of TIME magazine’s 100 Most Influential People in the World. Since then, Mr. Allen has received numerous awards.

Jacquelyn Fredrick

President & CEO, BloodCenter of Wisconsin Inc.

Honorary Doctor of Business and Public Health

Jacquelyn Fredrick became the fourth president and CEO of BloodCenter of Wisconsin on Dec. 1, 2001. She is the first woman to hold that position in the organization’s more than 60-year history.

Fredrick leads an internationally respected transfusion medicine organization that is the sole supplier of blood and blood products to 56 Wisconsin hospitals, and provides diagnostic laboratory, transfusion and hematology-related medical services to hospitals nationwide.

In February 2010, BloodCenter of Wisconsin became the first and only blood center in the United State to operate both a tissue bank and organ procurement organization. In addition, its Blood Research Institute is among the world’s premier blood research organizations.

When she became president and CEO of the BloodCenter, Fredrick returned to an organization where she began her career in blood banking in 1981. She left to join the National American Red Cross in 1993.

At present, Fredrick serves as president of the AABB, an international professional organization for transfusion medicine and cellular therapies. She also serves on numerous boards of directors, is chair of the UWM Research Foundation Board and serves on the UWM Foundation Board, the UWM College of Health Sciences Dean’s Advisory Board and the Lubar School of Business Advisory Council..

Stephen H. Marcus

Chairman, The Marcus Corporation

Honorary Doctor of Business and Urban Development

Stephen H. Marcus is chairman of The Marcus Corporation, a Milwaukee-based company that is a leader in lodging and entertainment.

Marcus joined the company in 1962. He served as president from 1980 to January 2008 and as chief executive officer from 1988 to January 2009. He was elected chairman of the board in 1991.

Marcus’ leadership in The Marcus Corporation and his involvement with community organizations have contributed to the growth and development of the City of Milwaukee. Marcus has focused on the restoration and expansion of properties in downtown areas in Wisconsin, Kansas and Oklahoma, ultimately increasing the economic vitality of those regions.

Contributions to the wider community include current positions with the Greater Milwaukee Committee, the Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce and the Wisconsin Center District Board.

Marcus was recognized as the 2004 Wisconsin Business Leader of the Year for his attention to the greater good and his influential role in the community.

In 1993, he joined UWM’s Architecture & Urban Planning Design Council, which brought business and community leaders together to discuss key issues in development, design and construction in Southeastern Wisconsin.

In founding the Marcus Prize with the School of Architecture & Urban Planning, he has drawn international attention to the UWM Architecture program, while providing UWM students the opportunity to work with some of the world’s most talented architects.