Communication Sciences student organization receives highest honor

NSSLHA officers and coordinators of “Meet and Greet,” L to R: Marie Turner, president, Sarah Polar, treasurer and Corissa Kroenke, graduate student rep.

The UWM chapter of the National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association’s (NSSHLA)  received the 2013 Gold Standing Award. The diligent student members were recognized for their outstanding achievements in fundraising, community service, advocacy, career awareness and member recruitment.

The Gold Rating is the highest possible recognition given by the national organization and only fourteen chapters in the country met the standards of this level out of over 300 chapters.

The chapters that meet the criteria for Gold Status are acknowledged by the national association annually during the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Convention, in print and on the Web.

NSSLHA helps students stay current on advancements in the field, enhance their academic knowledge, find internships and employment, network with other students with similar interests and save money on products and services.

Officers in 2012-2013 were: President Sara Engelhardt, Vice President Corissa Kroenke, Secretary Carmen Daniels, Treasurer Kelly Popp and Graduate Student Representative Gretchen Metcalf, all students in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders (CSD.) Chapter faculty advisors are CSD Clinical Assistant Professors Patricia Willis, MST, CCC-SLP, and Susan Yorio, M.S., CCC-SLP.

Interim Assistant Dean of Student Affairs Susan E. Cashin, Ph.D., complimented all those involved, “Your hard work and dedication to the field and your community deserve this national recognition.  Congratulations on this high honor!”

The UWM Chapter, with new officers and members, kicked off the year with an interactive “Meet and Greet” where students are able to get to know their professors.

NSSLHA officers gathered “get acquainted” information from CSD faculty and staff on a variety of questions about academic or professional interests, as well as personal hobbies.

On the day of the scavenger hunt, students stopped by professors’ offices, introduced themselves and asked the “get acquainted” questions.  At the end of the day, there was a drawing and three students won a free NSSLHA membership: Jordan Angst, Mandy Clapper and Alyssa Moorhead.