Fine Arts Quartet presents Summer Evenings of Music in June

The Fine Arts Quartet: (L-R) Ralph Evans, Efim Boico,  Robert Cohen, Juan-Miguel Hernandez

The Fine Arts Quartet: (L-R) Ralph Evans, Efim Boico, Robert Cohen, Juan-Miguel Hernandez

The Summer Evenings of Music all feature the world-renowned Fine Arts Quartet, UWM’s Quartet-in-Residence since 1963. The dates are Sundays, June 1, 8, 22 and 29. Concerts begin at 7:30 p.m. in the Zelazo Center for the Performing Arts, 2419 E. Kenwood Blvd.

The Fine Arts Quartet began performing regularly in 1946 while playing with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. With different membership over the years, the quartet has made scores of recordings and toured extensively. They perform four times during the academic year at UWM, in addition to the Summer Evening concerts. Violinists Ralph Evans and Efim Boico (who have been playing together nearly 30 years), interim violist Juan-Miguel Hernandez and cellist Robert Cohen perform in such cities as New York, London, Paris, Berlin, Rome, Madrid, Moscow, Tokyo, Beijing and Toronto.

Before each concert at 6:30 p.m., Timothy Noonan, senior lecturer in music history and literature at the Peck School of the Arts, is scheduled to discuss what the audience will hear performed. Noonan has given these talks every summer but one since 2008 and has taught in the Peck School since 1996.

Printed programs contain details about each piece, so Noonan said he typically talks about “bigger, broader ideas.”

“Joseph Haydn composed 68 quartets over a long career, and the last one he completed was Op. 77-2.  He wrote Op. 103 in his 70s, when he was frail and weak and about finished with composing. This unfinished string quartet includes only the second and third movements, typically the slow movement and the minuet, while the first and last movements [which Haydn did not write] in a quartet are both fast,” Noonan said.

Haydn’s Op. 103 will be performed June 22.

Noonan also expects to talk about Juan Crisóstomo Arriaga – known as the Spanish Mozart because of the similarities between the two composers. He and Mozart were prodigies, composing at an early age. Born on the 50th anniversary of Mozart’s birth, Arriaga died in 1826 at age 19. In his short life he wrote three string quartets, and the Fine Arts Quartet will perform Arriaga’s final work – Quartet No. 3 – on June 8.

Tickets are available at the Zelazo box office and online at

Fine Arts Quartet Summer Evenings of Music schedule:

June 1
Haydn Quartet Op. 77-2
Shostakovich Quartet No. 7 (1960)
Schumann Quartet Op. 41-1

June 8

Arriaga Quartet No. 3
Bruckner Quartet
Mendelssohn Quartet Op. 44-1

June 22
With guest pianist Alon Goldstein and bassist Rachel Calin
Haydn Quartet Op.103
Mozart Piano Concerto KV 467
Tchaikovsky Quartet No. 2

June 29
With guest cellist Alexander Hülshoff and violist Gil Sharon
Mozart Quintet KV 406
Strauss “Capriccio”
Tchaikovsky Sextet “Souvenir de Florence”