An impressive year for the Panthers

The Milwaukee Panthers wrapped up an impressive 2013-14 school year, shattering records and winning eight regular season and postseason Horizon League titles in women’s volleyball, women’s soccer, men’s soccer, men’s basketball, women’s tennis, and men’s track and field.

Seven athletes were named Horizon League Players of Year: Laurie Bell (Men’s Soccer), Kelly Lewers (Women’s Soccer), Rachel Neuberger (Volleyball), Durell Busby (Men’s Track and Field- Outdoor), Simbi Laaro (Women’s Track and Field- Indoor), Ryan Solberg (Baseball), and four-time honoree Emily McClellan (Women’s Swimming and Diving).

For the second time in the past three years, Milwaukee was awarded the McCafferty Trophy. This marks the seventh time the Panthers have won the trophy, given to the all-sports conference champion.

“The McCafferty Trophy is a culmination of all of the hard work by our student-athletes and the coaches who work with them,” says Milwaukee Panthers Athletic Director Amanda Braun. “Not only are we proud of the significant accomplishments by our student-athletes in the classroom, but their results on the playing fields also speak for themselves. This award is not only a reflection of the commitment of the University to the athletic department, but also of the quality of our coaches and staff members.”

Click an image to see a slide show