UWM researchers among M-WERC grant winners

MILWAUKEE – The Mid-West Energy Research Consortium (M-WERC) has awarded six researchers from local universities with grants of $75,000 to continue scientific work in energy, power and control (EPC) systems that can benefit Wisconsin.

“As the region’s premier public and private sector partnership, M-WERC is excited to announce our efforts to expand on our track record of connecting corporate partners and innovators by funding research that is critical to the region’s growth in the EPC sector,” said Alan Perlstein, executive director and chief executive officer of M-WERC.

The six grants are being awarded to researchers at UW-Milwaukee, UW-Madison, Milwaukee Area Technical College, Marquette University and Milwaukee School of Engineering. M-WERC corporate partners Johnson Controls, LEM USA, Rockwell Automation, Milwaukee County, DRS Technologies, Eaton, and Regal Beloit are the industry collaborators.

Grants include funding for the following projects:

  • Developing a Model of a Net Zero Energy Campus in a Distributed Energy Resources Systems Environment
  • Development of Next Generation Efficient Integrated Power System for Higher Power and Improved Survivability
  • Energy Storage, Demand Response, and Renewable Energy Interaction at Building, Campus, and District Level
  • Solutions for Power Electronic Circuits with Wide-Band Gap Devices Using Silicon Carbide (SiC) and Gallium Nitride
  • Modeling and Design Optimization of High Efficiency Permanent Magnet Machine-Drive Systems
  • Hybrid Energy Module Development for High-Efficiency Buildings

Three universities and four industrial companies founded M-WERC in 2009. It has grown to more than 75 members with an annual budget of more than $1 million and a track record of funding more than $3 million of collaborative and transformative energy-related seed research in the last four years.

Today M-WERC is dedicated to making the Midwest region the leader in energy, power and controls. It has five core mission areas: technology innovation; market and industry expansion; public policy support; workforce development; and organization development and strategic collaboration.

It encompasses the states of Wisconsin, Illinois, Minnesota, Iowa, Indiana, Ohio, Michigan and Missouri. For more information visit m-werc.org.